Tags

, , , , , , ,

Death is not the biggest fear we have; our biggest fear is taking the risk  to be alive – the risk to be alive and express what we really are.   – don Miguel Ruiz

I have studied, apprenticed and been guided by many great teachers in my life.  Some have been teachers in the formal sense of the word and others have modeled life lessons through their actions independent of whatever their official title might be.

Don Miguel Ruiz is one of the teachers I have been blessed to have apprenticed with.  You may be familiar with some of his books:  The Four Agreements, The Fifth Agreement and The Mastery of Love.

I first heard about Don Miguel when my friend, Shanti, was visiting me in East Hamton in September 1999.  As we walked on the beach one morning she said, “You have to read The Four Agreements.”  I said, “What are the four agreements?” to which she responded:

  1. be impeccable with your word
  2. don’t take things personally
  3. don’t make assumptions
  4. always do your best

These sounded like good agreements to live by and we agreed that I’d stop at a bookstore and buy the book when I drove her to the airport later that day.

As we continued to walk along the water’s edge we decided that in October 2000 we would take a spiritual journey to Egypt.  So, aloud, we declared our intention:  Loving Energy of the Universe guide us to the perfect teacher for our journey to Egypt in October 2000 – for the highest good of all.  And then we went on our way.

On the way to the airport I bought The Four Agreements and The Mastery of Love.  I left for Florida a few days later to visit my Mom and packed the books to read as I enjoyed a few days in sunny Florida.

I opened The Four Agreements, but before I read the first page I was drawn to the photo of Don Miguel on the back cover.  I was mesmerized.  I would read a few pages and then find myself gazing, entranced by his photo.  By the next day each time I looked at his photo I heard these words echoing in my mind, ‘I’ve got to meet this guy!’

That thought stayed with me and when I got home and checked my answering machine there was a message from Shanti saying, “Don Miguel Ruiz is leading a journey to Egypt this November.  I’m going.  Do you want to go?” 

I called her back immediately and as soon as she answered the phone I said, “Yes. YEs. YES – I’m going to Egypt with Don Miguel tol!”

This is how I began my three year apprenticeship with Don Miguel Ruiz.  His wisdom, Love and commitment to Heaven on Earth continue to inform and inspire my life.

 

Read his books, if you have already read them – then read them again and allow his message to meet you where you are today, visit his website and commit to living The Four Agreements in your life.

