Tags

, , , ,

There is an innocuous phrase used often in the Bible:  “It came to pass.”  It has a subtle inference that can be extremely meaningful to you.  The problem or financial reversal did not come into your life to stay; it came to pass.  Whatever the challenge, refuse to be panic-stricken.  Life hasn’t ended for you.  It flows on in a healing and prospering stream.  In the face of any challenge, affirm:  “I accept the reality of this situation, but not it’s permanence.  – Eric Butterworth  Spiritual Economics

While I had heard the words, it came to pass many times in my life it wasn’t until I attended a church service in Bridgehampton, NY about twenty years ago that the depth of meaning of these words captured my attention.

I’d heard that The First Baptist Church of Bridgehampton had a great choir.  So one summer Sunday morning, while my mom was visiting I went to a service with my family.  I was eager to hear the music and the songs of the choir, but now twenty years later it is the sermon that continues to be a potent reminder that while challenges, glitches in the road, may stop me in my tracks, and often have me initially questioning my ability to move forward, as soon as I remember that, It came to stay, not to pass, I actually sigh into the arms of possibility and glimpse the light at the end of the tunnel!

Inspired Life Practice:  It Came to Pass

  •  Use “It came to pass, not to stay,” as a mantra.
  • Write it where you can see it:  on a sticky-note placed on your fridge, bathroom mirror or screen saver.
  • When are facing a challenge, before you tackle the problem, remind yourself, It came to pass, not to stay.  Knowing that there is light at the end of the tunnel and a resolution is possible will open your mind to creative solutions and opportunities.
  • Post your comments about what you notice when you approach challenges from the, It came to pass, point of view.

Today’s Power Statement:  I am empowered when I remember that, challenges have come to pass and not to stay.

