Tags

, , , ,

As Seekers, the last thing we want to do is put our head in the sand when there is a problem and just “positive think” our way into denial and more pain.  So, instead of just always being positive and that positivity being fake, we must also embrace the negative.
Mastin Kipp

I have been writing Daily Inspiration messages since March 2009.  This is a spiritual practice for me and is generated by:

  • an experience I’m having in the moment
  • a question raised by my Coaching clients
  • an idea that pops into my mind, or
  • the daily message I receive from someone who inspires me.

Mastin Kipp is the founder of The Daily Love and I am inspired by his wisdom.

In today’s message, Don’t Deny The Negative – Understand It – Here’s How, he highlights how important it is to embrace all the circumstances of our lives.  Simply putting a positive spin on negative feelings, while still feeling the negative feelings leads to denial and ultimately causes more pain.

I find it so valuable to remember that when I experience negative feelings what is most potent is for me to acknowledge my feelings, become clear about the thoughts I’m having that are generating the negative feelings and from this awareness make choices that are aligned with my inspired life vision and serve to evolve the patterns that evoked the negative feelings in the first place.

Here’s what Mastin has to say:

We don’t deny the negative, we just put it in the proper context as being miracles for our own growth.

Many times in the personal growth and spiritual space we can confuse “positive thinking” and “positive denial.”

Positive denial can be very destructive.  Positive thinking can be very helpful.

A Seekers, the last thing we want to do is put our head in the sand when there is a problem and just “positive think” our way info denial and more pain.  So, instead of just always being positive and that positivity being fake, we must also embrace the negative.

In fact, it is when we give voice and healing to the negative thoughts, emotions and situations in our lives that we transform.  When we choose to stare at negativity and pain and embrace them as lessons, we begin to shift and change. (read more…)

