Tags

, , , , , , ,

The only way to do great work is to love what you do.  If you haven’t found it yet keep looking.  Don’t settle.
– Steve Jobs

I have the privilege of working with clients who are and have been successful in their work.  They have impressive job titles, and have been compensated well, and when you see their homes, hear about their lives and see their “toys” it is possible that your first reaction may be envy (even if your life looks impressive, to others,  from the outside).

These clients, men and women, come to me for coaching feeling empty from the inside out.  The cost of their type-A career has left them alienated from their family and friends; or their health is in jeopardy since work, work, work, getting ahead and acquiring “stuff” has been the brass ring they were running after; or as a result of the economic downturn during recent years they are left without a job title, and feeling that they have no identity of value.

They come to me when they desire a change – sometimes as simply stated as, “I don’t want to feel this way any more, but I don’t know what to do. Can you help me feel better?  Can you tell me what to do?”  At other time they see themselves at a crossroad – there is a dream they have had for many. many years – to use their gifts, talents and skills to really make a difference in the world and at the same time to cultivate loving and satisfying relationships with family members and friends as well as through the work they do.  But they don’t know where to begin, they are filled with fear and anxiety that they will be unable to turn their passion into profits – financially as well as emotionally and spiritually; and with their self-esteem, usually, at an all time low the light at the end of tunnel isn’t evident.

If this sounds like you, or someone you know the only place to start to re-invent yourself; to begin a new chapter of your life is by starting where you are.  Acknowledge what you are feeling and allow yourself to answer the questions:

  • If I knew I could not fail how would I be living my life – what great work would I be doing?
  • Who would I be in my thoughts, words and actions if I were living this life?
  • What thought and beliefs sabotage my confidence and actions to live this live?
  • What support do I need to say, “Yes,” to my big dream?
