Tags

, , , ,

I have been inspired by Liz Learmont, LifeMasking Scupltress, for more than a decade.  One of her masks hangs in my living room and my experience as a model for Come Join the Circle opened my heart and mind to the inherent power of masks and mask making.  Liz’s work cultivates mystical creativity and spiritual evolution.

And while Liz’s work is literally breath-taking, it is who she is that infuses her artistry so magnificently.

During my recent visit to Sedona, AZ Liz and I spent time together sharing what we’ve been up to – and I am thrilled to “share” Liz with you.

Susyn:  What does living and inspired life mean to you?

Liz:  It means being connected with something greater than myself, allowing it in and letting it guide me.  It means recognizing I’m part of the community of humanity and beyond.  It means creatively working with what Is.

Susyn:  In your daily life, how do you nourish your inspired life?

Liz:   To keep the vessel of my being clear to receive and to expand I follow three principles:

1. Take care of yourself... for me this means eating in a way that supports my being, choosing activities that bring me joy and support maintaining balance. At this time in my life that’s dancing, yoga, pilates, regular acupuncture, supportive supplements, time in nature, travel-exploring, and creating.

2. Figure out what you need to do to move to wholeness… for me this means recognizing wounds and beliefs that no longer serve. Then developing techniques and support to move them. I find emotions are mostly signposts to material for healing and whole-ing.

3. It’s never outside of yourself,  don’t make it about other, look inside… so when I hear myself, say… getting annoyed with someone, I look for what’s going on within me. I tend to do this by examining the words I am saying about the situation, then identifying the word/s with the most energy and looking at what they mean in me.

Susyn:  What is your biggest challenge in living an inspired life and how do you approach this challenge?

Liz: Some of the challenges I am aware:

  • staying in touch and conscious with the energy beyond the personality of my being at all times
  • staying vigilant about coming from non-judgement, non-attachment
  • non-resistantly saying yes when there is clear ‘yes’ energy, otherwise saying ‘no’

I approach these challenges by taking time to review my day, reflecting on how I showed up without judging myself (I hope,) looking for the signs of inspiration or material to be examined, and offering gratitude. Maintaining the balance I discussed above supports approaching challenges from a stable perspective.

Susyn:  Who/What has influenced you in living your inspired life?

Liz: Things that have influenced my life are:

  • many books, several spiritual teachers and friends, and numerous movies
  • choosing people in my life who live inspired lives and inspire me
  • learning more about people I find inspiring
  • applying techniques and approaches to life I’ve learned over the years
  • Some of the authors have been Ken Keyes, Marsha Sinetar, Exkart Tolle, Gangaji, Jed McKenna, Bruce Lipton, Marion Zimmer-Bradley
  • Some of the teachers have been Dennis Adams, Michael Beckwith, Gangaji, and as an artist the works and biographies of Monet and Georgia O’Keeffe and other greats
  • Some of the movies I can recall Amazing Grace, Dangerous Beauty, I Am, and Mao’s Last Dancer

Susyn:  What are you working on now?

Liz:  I’m continually working on expanding my connection to all that is, that means asking the universe for support and guidance.  As an artist the inspiration expresses most obviously in my work.  Here is one example of how the inspiration came.

As an artist, a LifeMasking Sculptress to be more specific, in that moment of  stunned stillness on 9/11 I heard an inspirational whisper saying “come… join the circle.” This idea-that-arrived-as-whisper grew into a vision, a circle of meditating life-sculpted ‘beings’ with spaces in the circle inviting viewers to sit amongst these ‘beings’ in a moment of peace and stillness. My dream has become sharing this project, and cultivating creativity through stillness has become my passion. I have been creating these life-sculpted ‘beings’ since. There are now eleven ‘beings’ in the circle. 

(If you are near Sedona this weekend stop by her and experience her 9/11 Momentary Memorial – Come… Join the Circle in a moment of peace and stillness.)

Susyn:  What words of wisdom do you have for someone who desires to live their inspired life vision?

Liz:  Many thoughts enter my mind:

  • Commit to cultivating an inspired life, and then cultivate creativity and joy in your life
  • Learn to listen… I think a major component of listening is learning to be still, to allow that empty space within one’s self , this involves learning a disciple of quieting the mind.
  • Learn to say ‘no’… if it’s not a clear ‘yes’… it’s ‘no’
  • Cultivate your own visioning.

I’ll describe the process that works for me in my life. The last part of a year I ‘cultivate’ my vision for the coming year. I may consult a vedic astrologer as part of this process, I review every aspect of my life, looking at where the energy wants to go in the coming year/s. This includes reviewing tangible aspects such as production goals and home improvements to the person I want to be and the nature of my relationships. From that I create some specific goals and a realistic financial plan that supports the vision. Then I make choices to live these goals. I review this at mid-year. Of course, sometimes life doesn’t go the way I envisioned and adjustments need to be made. However I am amazed at how much it stays in line with the vision when I really listen. I like Eckart Tolle’s suggestion to ask ‘what does life want of me?’ rather than ‘what do I want from life?’

Watch Liz describe the Life Mask Making process:

Learn more about Liz’s work and books.

