Tags

, , , , ,

As I drove to the supermarket this morning I listened to the last few minutes of Steve Jobs 2005 Commencement Address at Stanford.  (Watch the video).  Tears filled my eyes, and I was initially surprised.

I was reminded of my first Apple Computer that I excitedly took out of the box in 1984 feeling way out of my comfort zone learning to use it.

As as I sit here writing my fingers are dancing across the keyboard of my Mac and my iPhone is nearby.  As much as these gadgets are part of my daily life it is the closing words of the commencement address that were echoing in my mind today.  Quoting the back cover of the final edition of The Whole Earth Catalog, Steve Jobs said, “Stay Hungry, Stay Foolish.”

So for the past few hours I have been thinking about what these words mean for me.  Staying hungry reminds me that while life on Earth is finite, as long as I am alive having a hunger to live on purpose, to share my gifts, talents, skills and abilities and to continually deepen and expand my capacity to give and receive love that I will actually be nourished.  Staying foolish reminds me that to follow the wisdom of my heart and to allow the beat of my drum opens the door to possibility, wonder and the infinite creative resources of the universe.

So today I honor Steve Jobs and through his example I am inspired to be the very best me I can be and take to heart his words, “Your time is limited so don’t waste it living someone else’s life.”

Photo by: Peter Macdiarmid/Getty Images

